tgnns logo

Modi Assigns Portfolios to Cabinet List of Ministers of India 2024

Modi Assigns Portfolios to Cabinet List of Ministers of India 2024

Prime Minister Narendra Modi Assigns Portfolios to Cabinet Ministers for Historic Third Term

A day after being sworn in for a historic third consecutive term, Prime Minister Narendra Modi assigned portfolios to his 71-member council of ministers. The new Union Cabinet convened its first meeting at the Prime Minister’s residence on Monday evening.

Key Cabinet Ministers and Their Portfolios

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has retained key ministries under his direct supervision, including the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, the Department of Atomic Energy, and the Department of Space. This strategic allocation ensures close oversight on crucial administrative functions and scientific advancements.

  • Rajnath Singh: Ministry of Defence
  • Amit Shah: Ministry of Home Affairs; Ministry of Cooperation
  • Nitin Gadkari: Ministry of Road Transport and Highways; Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers
  • JP Nadda: Ministry of Health and Family Welfare
  • Shivraj Singh Chouhan: Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare; Ministry of Rural Development
  • Nirmala Sitharaman: Ministry of Finance; Ministry of Corporate Affairs
  • Subrahmanyam Jaishankar: Ministry of External Affairs
  • Manohar Lal Khattar: Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs; Ministry of Power
  • HD Kumaraswamy: Ministry of Heavy Industries; Ministry of Steel
  • Piyush Goyal: Ministry of Commerce and Industry
  • Dharmendra Pradhan: Ministry of Education

New Focus Areas and Ministry Allocations

The Cabinet reflects a focus on diverse and strategic areas. Noteworthy among the new allocations are:

  • Sarbananda Sonowal: Ministry of Ports, Shipping, and Waterways
  • Ashwini Vaishnaw: Ministry of Railways; Ministry of Information and Broadcasting; Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology
  • Jyotiraditya Scindia: Ministry of Communications; Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region
  • Bhupendra Yadav: Ministry of Environment and Forests
  • Gajendra Singh Shekhawat: Ministry of Tourism; Ministry of Culture
  • Annpurna Devi: Ministry of Women & Child Development

Strengthening Core Sectors

Several ministries crucial to economic development and social welfare have been assigned to experienced leaders:

  • Prahlad Joshi: Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food, and Public Distribution; Ministry of New and Renewable Energy
  • Giriraj Singh: Ministry of Textiles
  • Kiren Rijiju: Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs; Ministry of Minority Affairs
  • Hardeep Singh Puri: Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas
  • Mansukh Mandaviya: Ministry of Labour & Employment; Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports

Expanding Regional Development

The inclusion of leaders from diverse political backgrounds and regions signifies an emphasis on balanced regional development:

  • G Kishan Reddy: Ministry of Coal; Ministry of Mines
  • LJP(RV) Chirag Paswan: Ministry of Food Processing Industries
  • C R Patil: Ministry of Jal Shakti

Ministers of State with Independent Charge

Certain portfolios have been entrusted to Ministers of State with independent charge, reflecting the importance of their responsibilities:

  • Rao Inderjit Singh: Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation; Ministry of Planning; Minister of State in the Ministry of Culture
  • Jitendra Singh: Ministry of Science and Technology; Ministry of Earth Sciences; Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office; Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions; Department of Atomic Energy; Department of Space
  • Arjun Ram Meghwal: Ministry of Law and Justice; Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs

Ministers of State

The allocation also includes numerous Ministers of State who will support various departments to ensure efficient governance:

  • Jitin Prasada: MoS Ministry of Commerce and Industry; MoS Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology
  • Shripad Yesso Naik: MoS Ministry of Power; MoS Ministry of New and Renewable Energy
  • Pankaj Chaudhary: MoS Ministry of Finance
  • Krishan Pal: MoS Ministry of Cooperation
  • Athawale Ramdas Bandu: MoS Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment

Strategic Governance with Focus on Development

This structured allocation of portfolios highlights the government’s strategic focus on economic development, infrastructure growth, social justice, and technological advancements. The leadership under Prime Minister Modi aims to drive India forward through robust governance and inclusive development.


With this diverse and experienced team, Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s government is set to embark on its third term with a clear vision and strategic priorities aimed at fostering national growth and development. The carefully chosen ministers and their respective portfolios underscore the administration’s commitment to addressing India’s challenges and harnessing opportunities for sustainable progress.

Related Articles

Ladli Behna Awas Yojana 2023 సైబర్ నేరాలపై పోలీసుల వినూత్న ప్రచారం Telangana Police Ram Gopal Varma’s 9 Critical Questions for Pawan Kalyan Reliance Foundation Scholarships 2023 Chandrababu Naidu’s Arrest: A Storm in Andhra Pradesh