Greater Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation – Proposal for inclusion of the areas

Whereas, Visakhapatnam is the second largest city in State of Andhra Pradesh, a sprawling industrial city and one of the fast emerging metropolises. The large-scale expansion of Visakhapatnam and its suburbs began since 1970 with the setting up of the Visakhapatnam Steel Plant at Gajuwaka and the townships development undertaken by Visakhapatnam Urban Development Authority. The trend of population expansion and growth is more pronounced along the National Highway-5, viz., towards Gajuwaka on the west and Madhurawada on the East. With the establishment of various industries, Gangavaram Port and SEZ towards the west of Visakhapatnam the urban spread of Visakhapatnam is increasing in a linear pattern;

And whereas, the rapid pace of development and growth around Greater Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation viz., mostly in Anakapalle Municipality, Bheemunipatnam Municipality and adjoining Gram Panchayats located in between Greater Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation, Anakapalle and Bheemunipatnam Municipalities are posing severe strain on the physical infrastructure facilities and service and creating problem of effective management and administration in view of multiplicity of Municipalities and local bodies;

View Larger Map

And whereas, considering all the above, and with a view to (i) provide better civic services; (ii) have better administrative mechanism; (iii) ensure better planning and focused development in and around Visakhapatnam; (iv) have more equitable devolution of finance and utilization of resources; (v) ensure uniform enforcement in the Visakhapatnam and its suburbs, Government have provisionally decided to expand the limits of Greater Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation by merging Anakapalle, Bheemunipatnam Municipalities and 10 Gram Panchayats located between Greater Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation, Anakapalle and Bheemunipatnam Municipalities;

Greater Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation

And whereas, Anakapalle Municipality has furnished Council Resolution vide C.R.No.769, dt.16-04-2012 consenting for merger. Bheemunipatnam Municipality has also furnished Council Resolution vide C.R.No.232, dt.10-04-2012. Consenting for merger. The District Collector, Visakhapatnam in his letter Rc.No.234/2013/A1, dt.25-04-2013 has furnished the resolutions of 10 Grampanchayats consenting for merger in the limits of Greater Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation;

Now, therefore, it is proposed to include the following Anakapalle Municipality, Bheemunipatnam Municipality and 10 Grampanchayats located in Anakapalle, Bheemunipatnam and parawada mandals in the limits of Greater Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation under the first proviso to sub-section (1) of Section 3 of the Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation Act, 1979, namely:


(1) Anakapalle Municipality (2) Bheemunipatnam Municipality

Gram Panchayats:

(1) K.Nagarapalem (2) Kapuluppada (3) Chepaluppada (4) Nidigattu
(5) J.V.Agraharam (6) Thadi (7) Salapuvanipalem (8) Rajupalem
(9) Valluru (10) Koppaka

The Commissioner, GVMC is requested to place the matter before the Council and obtain the views/objections/suggestions if any, on the proposal and communicate to the Government within a period of 15 days from the date of receipt of this notice. If no views/objections/suggestions are received from the Greater Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation within the above stipulated time, it will be construed that the GVMC has no remarks to offer on the proposal of Government and further action will be taken basing on the material available with the Government.

The Commissioner, Municipal Corporation, Visakhapatnam, shall publish a copy of this G.O in the Notice Board of the Municipal Corporation, Visakhapatnam for information to the public.

G.O.Ms.No. 216 & 215 Dated: 25th, May 2013

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.