PMFBY for Implementation of Village as Insurance Unit in Telangana

The Government of Telangana hereby notify the Crops and Areas (District wise) during Kharif 2018  to implement the “Village as Insurance Unit ” for one major crop of the District and other crops are covered under Mandal Insurance Unit scheme during Kharif 2018 season under Pradhan Mantri Fasal Bhima Yojana (PMFBY) in(30)Districts of the State. The main features/Operational modalities of the Scheme  vide Annexures I to VIII, Statements  1-30 and Proforma A&B are Appended to this order. The details of the District wise Crops covered under  Village as Insurance Unit  under PMFBY scheme selected for notification are as follows:

Please download the Government order




District Crop S.


District Crop
1. Adilabad Soybean 16. Sangareddy Rice
2. Asifabad Rice 17. Medak Rice
3. Mancherial Rice 18. Siddipet Maize
4. Nirmal Soybean 19. Jangoan Rice
5. Nizamabad Rice 20. Yadadri Rice
6. Jagtial Rice 21. Medchal-Malkajgiri Rice
7. Peddapalli Rice 22. Ranga Reddy Maize
8. Jayashankarbhupalpalli Rice 23. Vikarabad Maize
9. BhadradriKothagudem Rice 24. Mahabubnagar Maize
10. Mahabubabad Rice 25. JogulambaGadwal Rice
11. Warangal (R) Rice 26. Wanaparthy Rice
12. Warangal (U) Rice 27. Nagarkurnool Maize
13. Karimnagar Rice 28. Nalgonda Rice
14. RajannaSricilla Rice 29. Suryapet Rice
15. Kamareddy Rice 30. Khammam Rice

As per the provision of PMFBY the Telangana State is divided into (6) clusters based on Risk Profile as under PMFBY and each cluster is allotted to Empanelled General Insurance Companies as implementing Agency in each cluster as follows:

Cluster Districts Name of the implementing Agency
I Adilabad, Mancherial, Komarambheem

(Asifabad) , Jayshanker (Bhupalapalli) Siddipet

National insurance Company ltd.
II Nirmal, Nizamabad, Kamareddy, Yadadri, Rangareddy National insurance Company ltd.
III Peddapalli, Karimnagar, Jagityal, Siricilla,


Tata AIG General Insurance Company Ltd
IV Khammam, Nalgonda, Suryapet, Sangareddy, Medak. Agriculture  insurance company of India Ltd.
V Bhadradri, Warangal (U ), Warangal (R), Wanaparthy, Nagarkurnool Agriculture  insurance company of India Ltd.
VI Medchal, Mahabubnagar, Jogulamba, Vikarabad, Mahabubabad National insurance Company ltd.

Further, settlement of the claims “As per the PMFBY Guidelines and administrative approval of Government of India for Kharif 2018 with the condition that, the indemnity claims will be settled on the basis of yield data furnished by the state government based on requisite number of crop cutting experiments (CCEs) under General Crop Estimation Survey (GCES) conducted and not any other basis like Annavari / paisawari certificate / Declaration of drought / flood, Gazette Notification etc. by any other Department / Authority.

However claims for prevented sowing will be based on area sown and claims for localized risks and post harvest losses will be assessed by Insurance surveyors for each effected farmer. For their purpose the Joint Committee comprising of loss surveyors, Representative of implementing agency and State Government officials of concerned departments will be formed to supervise the claim assessment process.

About Pavan

Advocate, Journalist and Founder of Telangana Navanirmana Sena From Mahabubnagar Email Me --

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.