Election to the 10 MLC in Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council – March 2013

WHEREAS, the seats of ten (10) members of the Legislative Council of the State of Andhra Pradesh, elected by the members of Legislative Assembly of the State, are due to fall vacant on 29th March, 2013, on  the retirement of those members, on the expiration of their term of office;

AND WHEREAS, a biennial election has to be held for the purpose of filling the above vacancies so arising;

The Commission has decided to hold Biennial Election to the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council by the Members of Legislative Assembly to fill up above mentioned vacancies so arising, in accordance with the following programme:-

S.No. Event Schedule


Issue of Notification 4th March, 2013 (Monday)


Last date of making nominations 11th March, 2013 (Monday)


Scrutiny of nominations 12th March, 2013 (Tuesday)


Last date for withdrawal of candidatures 14th March,  2013 (Thursday)


Date of poll 21th March, 2013 (Thursday)


Hours of Poll From 9.00 A.M. to 4.00 P.M.


Counting of Votes 21th March, 2013 (Thursday) at 5 P.M.


Date before which election shall be completed 25th March, 2013 (Monday)

NOW, THEREFORE, in exercise of the powers conferred under section 16 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951) and as recommended by the Election Commission of India, the Governor of  Andhra Pradesh is hereby pleased to call  upon  the  members of  the Legislative   Assembly  of  the State, to   elect   ten  (10)  members to   the Legislative  Council of the State,  for   the   purpose  of   filling  the   above vacancies, in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder.

10  members  of  the  Andhra  Pradesh  Legislative  Council, March 2013

The term of office of 10 members of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council, elected by the members of the Legislative Assembly, is going to expire on the dates mentioned against their names due to their retirement, as detailed below :-

S.No. Name of the Member Date of Retirement
1. Sh. Cherupally Seetha Ramulu 29.03.2013
2. Sh. Jalli Wilson 29.03.2013
3. Ms. Laxmi Durgesh Prasad Kandula 29.03.2013
4. Sh. S. Indrasain Reddy 29.03.2013
5. Ms. Bharathi Dhiravat 29.03.2013
6. Sh. P. Yadagiri 29.03.2013
7. Sh. Sidda Raghava Rao 29.03.2013
8. Sh. Ibrahim Bin Abdullah Masquati 29.03.2013
9. Sh. Ponguleti Sudhakar Reddy 29.03.2013
10. Sh. Pulla Padmavathi 29.03.2013

From the Election Commission of India, Letters No.322/AP-LC/2013-CC&BE,  Dt.25.2.2013.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.