15 MLAs disqualified from Andhra Pradesh Assembly

The Congress MLAs disqualified are Sujaya Krishna Ranga Rao, Dwarampudi Chandrasekhar Reddy, Alla Srinivas (Nani), M Rajesh, Perni Venkata Ramaiah (Nani), Jogi Ramesh, B Siva Prasad Reddy, Gottipati Ravi Kumar and Peddireddi Ramachandra Reddy.

Congress MLAs disqualified

The rebel TDP legislators are T Sairaj, Taneti Vanitha, Kodali Srivenkateswara Rao (Nani), Praveen Kumar Reddy, Amarnath Reddy and Y Balanagi Reddy.

tdp disqualified Mls 2013

The speaker has not yet taken a decision on the disqualification of three other TDP legislators — Chinnam Ramakotaiah, K Harishwar Reddy and S Venugopalachari. During the hearing, they had told the speaker that they did not receive the party whip.

With less than a year to go for elections to the assembly, it was not clear if the disqualification will result in by-elections to these seats. The speaker disqualified the legislators two days before the second phase of the budget session, beginning on Monday.

The speaker said the TDP petition for disqualification of another rebel Gangula Kamlakar was also pending. The opposition party had submitted the petition three days ago for disqualification of Kamlakar, who recently joined the TRS.

The rebel MLAs have welcomed the Speaker’s decision. “We will show in the by-elections that the YSRC will once again sweep the polls and prove the innocence of  Y S Jaganmohan Reddy,” said Kakinada (city) MLA D Chandrasekhara Reddy, who is a close aide of Jagan.

The Election Commission has announced that by-elections were unlikely if the tenure of the present House was less than six months.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.