New Citizen Service Centers in Andhra Pradesh

The Government of Andhra Pradesh has taken up several e-Governance initiatives to provide services to citizens in a transparent manner and to promote efficiency within the Government Departments. In addition to this, State has taken up various initiatives in establishing Citizen Service Centers as a front-end delivery channel with an objective of convenience to the citizens in availing various Government services. The State, to achieve this objective has taken steps to establish various ICT enabled Citizen Service Centers like e-Seva, Rural Service Deliver Points (RSDPs), Rajiv Internet Village Centers (RIV), Common Service Centers (CSCs) and APOnline Centers.

The Government of India has formulated a National e-Governance Plan (NeGP) with a vision to provide all Government Services in an integrated manner at the doorstep of the Citizen, at an affordable cost. CSCs are envisioned as the front-end delivery points for Government, private and social sector services to rural citizens of India. The idea is to develop a platform that can enable Government, private and social sector organizations to integrate their social and commercial goal. As part of CSC scheme, 4687 CSCs are being established in rural areas (2001 Census Villages) of Andhra Pradesh by the selected SCAs (Service Center Agencies) with a view to subsume erstwhile RSDP & RIV centers in to CSC scheme.

EDS has given a newspaper notice, vide reference 5th cited, stating that all un-grounded and non-operational RSDP/RIV operators should give their willingness letters to the Administrative Officers (AO) e-Seva of the concerned districts to start their Centers under Citizen Service Center (CSC) Scheme. It was also reiterated in the notice that, in case they fail to submit willingness letters, their centers (RSDP/RIV) would be deemed cancelled and SCA of CSC Project shall allot these Centers to new operators. The response to this newspaper notice was very minimal.

As per the Government of India Guidelines, District e-Governance Societies (DeGS) are formed under the Chairmanship of District Collector to coordinate and implement e-District, SWAN, CSC and other e-Governance projects at the district level.

Government of Andhra Pradesh has issued orders, for Andhra Pradesh Information Technology (Electronic Service Delivery) Rules, 2011 as per Information Technology Act, 2000 (Act 21 of 2000) for enabling and regulating the filing of forms or applications and for the issue or grant of Digitally Signed licenses, permits, certificates, sanctions or approvals and the receipt or payment of money for the delivery of services electronically.

6. Government of Andhra Pradesh has initiated ‘Mee Seva’ Project to improve the delivery of public services to citizens through a well defined architecture and protocol. Mee Seva, easier, faster is an online, web based, transparent and secured citizen-centric service facility to provide convenient access to the citizens without any need for them to go to multiple Government offices for getting their work done. Government has decided that Centers delivering Mee Seva services should have a common look and feel across the State. In this regard, Government has issued certain specifications guidelines. All Mee Seva Centers should comply with these guidelines mandatorily.

Joint Collectors of all the districts are designated as Additional Directors, Electronic Service Delivery (ESD) in their respective districts with certain roles and responsibilities to ensure smooth implementation and better coordination at the district level for ‘Mee Seva’ service delivery.

Currently parts of rural areas are not well covered by the existing operational centers for delivering Government services to citizens. Moreover Government also proposes to add more G2C services for delivery to the citizens and it is envisaged to deliver some of the services across the counter to the citizens in a short time. The sole intention of the Government is to provide citizen services effectively at their doorsteps in order to meet the objective of the scheme envisaged by the Central & State Governments. Therefore, it has become necessary to establish more number of centers in the rural areas depending on the population and as per the local requirement for the convenience of the citizens.

In rural areas, new Centers shall be established by the Service Center Agencies (SCAs) having agreement with Director, ESD for implementing the CSC Project in the concerned districts. SCA in consultation with District Administration under the guidance of District e-Governance Society (DeGS) or EDS shall identify villages where CSCs can be established in such a way that all rural areas are covered. DeGS is authorized to identify any village for establishing new centers on need basis depending on the population or proximity or public convenience. DeGS is authorized to identify any village for establishing additional center(s) where already operational Center(s) existing on need basis depending on the population or proximity or public convenience.

Nonetheless, while selecting VLEs for the future expansion of CSC, concerned SCA may give preference to the existing RSDPs/RIVs (erstwhile) etc. to subsume into the CSC Project, subject to their fulfilling all conditions as stipulated in the CSC Project as well as the look and feel of ‘Mee Seva’.

11. In case of Urban areas, new centers/franchisee of the concerned CSP shall be established by Contract Service Providers (CSPs) (Implementing agencies of the erstwhile e-Seva Project) having agreement with Director, ESD. CSP in consultation with District Administration under the guidance of District e-Governance Society (DeGS) or ESD shall establish the new Centers/franchisee of the concerned CSP on need basis depending on the population or proximity or public convenience.

1. GO.Ms.No.13, IT&C Department, dated 10.01.2003

2. G.O.Ms.No.12, IT&C Department, dated 04.05.2005

3. G.O.Ms.No.4, IT&C Department, dated 04.03.2006

4. G.O.Ms.No.20, IT&C Department, dated 04.10.2008

5. Paper Publication No.133/EDS/RESEVA/2010, dated 27.05.2010

6. Lr.No.IT&C/1784/EGov1/2011-2, dated 02.09.2011

7. G.O.Ms.No.10, IT&C Department, dated 18.10.2011

8. GO.Ms.No.4, IT&C Department, dated 01.03.2012

9.G.O.Ms.No. 45 Dated:09.10.2012


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *