Constitution of District Consumer Protection Councils in all Districts

As per the provisions of the Consumer Protection (Amendment) Act 2002 (Act 62 of 2002), the State Government shall establish a Council to be known as District Consumer Protection Council for every district by issue of a notification, with effect from such date as it may specify in such notification.

orders were issued for establishment of District Consumer Protection Council in all districts by appointing official and Non Official Members. The term of the appointed members has expired by 22-12-2006.

orders were issued for the establishment of the District Consumer Protection Councils in all Districts with immediate effect and it was ordered that the term of District Consumer Protection Council is 3 years from the date of issue of the orders.

The Commissioner of Civil Supplies, Hyderabad has requested to issue orders for extension of the term of District Consumer Protection Councils.

The Government, after careful examination of the matter, hereby order for the establishment of District Consumer Protection Council in all districts. The District Consumer Protection Council consists of the following official members in all districts under the Chairman ship of the Collector & District Magistrate.

Collector & District Magistrate. : Chairman
Joint Collector : Vice Chairman


1. Regional Transport Officer : Member
2. District Medical & Health Officer : Member
3. Asst. Controller / Dist. Inspector, Legal Metrology : Member
4. Food Inspector Dept. of Preventive Medicine : Member
5. RM/DM, APSRTC : Member
6. Superintending Engineer , Power Distribution Company : Member
7. Joint Director, Agriculture Department : Member
8. Deputy Commissioner,Commercial Taxes concerned : Member
9. Commissioner of the Municipality /Corporation : Member
10. District Supply Officer : Member – Convener
All the Collectors & District Magistrates shall nominate 10 non-official members in each district. Out of 10 Non Official Members, one member shall be nominated from an active Farmer Organization. Till the non-official members are nominated in each district, the Chairman may invite active Non-Governmental Organizations as special invitees to participate in the meetings. The above nominated Committee Members shall work to promote and protect the rights of the consumers as laid down in clauses (a)to (f) of Section 6 of the Consumer Protection Act, 1986 within the districts as mentioned below:-

(a) the right to be protected against the marketing of goods and services which are hazardous to life and property

(b) the right to be informed about the quality, quantity, potency , purity , standard and price of goods or services as the case may be so as to protect the consumer against unfair trade practices;

(c) the right to be assured, wherever possible, access to a variety of goods and services at competitive prices;

(d) the right to be heard and to be assured that consumers interest will receive due consideration at appropriate forums;

(e) the right to seek redressal against un-fair trade practices or restrictive trade practices or unscrupulous exploitation of consumers; and

(f) the right to consumer education.

7. The discussion of the District Consumer Protection Council should be focused on the consumer subjects to protect them like;

(i) delivery of goods at correct weights and measures duly stamped by the concerned Department.

(ii) quality of food grains / edible oils being sold.

(iii) sufficiency of public transport, charges levied, stopping at the specified stages and also on request.

(iv) services provided by Telecom Departments / Organizations including settlement of bills, fault repairs and shifting of phones on request.

(v) issue of bills by traders / service providers to all the consumers.

(vi) satisfactory services by Municipality with reference to sanitation maintenance of roads and supply of safe drinking water.

(vii) timely recording of meter readings, giving correct bills and redressal of complaints in respect of power Distribution Companies.

(viii) Redressal of public grievances by the public utilities etc

8. The term of District Consumer Protection Council shall be three years. The District Consumer Protection Council shall meet as and when necessary but not less than two meetings shall be held every year. The District Consumer Protection Council shall also meet at such time and place within the district as the Chairman may think fit and shall observe such procedure in regard to the transaction of its business as may be prescribed by the Government or till such time adopted by the Chairman. The District Supply Officer ( Member – Convener of District Consumer Protection Council) shall send the minutes of the meetings conducted to the Government and initiate follow up action on the resolution of District Consumer Protection Council.
The Collector & District Magistrate (Chairman of DCPC) shall constitute the District Consumer Protection Council within two weeks after receipt of this order.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *